Log in

National championships

Home > Events > National Championships

DAY 1 Sprint Competition Live Coverage

Sprint - Friday Marine Stadium - Live Stream
Sprint - Friday Marine Stadium - Short Recap
35 photo(s) Updated on: Sat, November 11, 2023
USA SUP National Championships Day1 Recap

Day one of the three for the inaugural USA SUP National Championships is in the books and all in all it was a pretty good read and an even better day on the water.

The weather couldn’t have been better with bluebird skies and mid 70-degree (F) temps. The water conditions where perfect in the sheltered historic Long Beach Marine Stadium. The venue was originally constructed to host the 1932 Olympic games and is targeted to see action again in 2028.

The mood on the beach was one of excitement and anticipation, with festival-like atmosphere. Many of the big boards brands where present including 404, SIC, Infinity, NSP, and Starboard. Loaning a sense of importance to the event.

The was also a feeling of anxious anticipation about the first day's events, focused on 200m sprint racing. For many in attendance, this was their first sprint race, and many of the more seasoned paddlers could count the amount of sprint racing they’ve done on one hand.

The schedule for the day had a heat race going off every 10 minutes, and with very few exceptions the schedule was adhered to. Every racer got at least two chances to paddle. Quarterfinal heats sent the top two finishers directly to the finals, with the remainder of the field passing to the semifinals. The top finishers of the semi then rounded out to the finals brackets.

The quarter and semifinal heats feature close racing across the board with more than a couple close finishes. As usual, the female classes brough a lot of excitement and comradery on full display in all three divisions, Open, Masters and Golden Masters.

In the female’s Masters (50+) Shirley Heinemann pulled out the win edging out Linda McCoy, and Suzy Dyer. The Golden Master’s (60+) Kristin Thomas took a break from her official USA SUP President duties to pull out a will over Jen Fuller, who pushed Kristin till the very end. Midwesterner Kathy McCrae rounded out to podium.

The Female’s open final was one of the most exciting of the day with Seychelle going toe-toe-toe with Katniss Paris hot on her heels. Birthday girl Soryn Preston, who just turned 15, was only a few seconds behind to lock up third.

Master’s male division was won by David Wells, with Pete Gauvin and Bill McGrath pushing till the end in a close finish. The male’s Golden Masters was dominated by Pacific Northerner Bruce Barry who coincidentally was also the winner of the 70+ age class. Tony Forcier, Sean Sullivan, and Joe Bechtold made to podium for 60+ youngster division.

The open male division featured a runaway win from none other than Danny Ching. Bodie Von Allmen pushed the entire distance, but faded at the end and was edged at the finish line by Jake Graham.

Saturday’s racing moves onto the 5 and 10k distance disciplines. A familiar event for most competitors, close competitive racing is expected.

USA SUP National Championship Day 1 Sprint Results

Women's Finals

Open (19-49) FeMALE 200M SPRINTS

1. Sey chelle

2. Katniss Paris

3. Soryn Preston

4. Susan Krupa Mccune

5. Katie Kasprzyk

6. Maylee Jaggi

7. Kirsten Marina Ledfeldt

8. Jennifer Flanagan


1. Shirley Heinemann

2. Linda Maccoy

3. Suzy Dyer

Golden Masters (60+) female 200m Sprints

1. Kristin Thomas

2. Jen Fuller

3. Kathy Mcrae

4. Annie Myers

5. CC Moncada

    Men's Finals

    OPEN (19-49) MALE 200M SPRINTS

    1. Danny Ching

    2. Jake Graham

    3. Bodie von Allmen

    4. Dave Boehne

    5. Ethan Huff

    6. Paul Pianowski

    7. Dennis Gibson

    8. Jeremy Nicholson

    Masters (50+) MALE 200M SPRINTS

    1. David Wells

    2. Peter Gauvin

    3. Bill Mcgrath

    4. Juerg Geser

    5. Ivan Storck

    6. Sean Arnold

    7. Rich D'souza

    8. Shawn Tierney

    Golden MASTERS (60+) MALE 200M SPRINTS

    1. Bruce Barry

    2. Tony Forcier

    3. Sean Sullivan

    4. Joe Bechtold

    5. Karl Eugster

    6. Michael Markunas

    7. Dave Anderson

    Questions? Check our FAQs.

    Follow Us

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software